No Stereotypes Here

Children Learn What They Live

Posted on: August 28, 2009

For as long as I can remember, my mother has kept this saying on a wooden plaque in the laundry room, which is also the entrance from the garage. So we would go past it every time we went into that room. It doesn’t say who it’s by, so forgive me for not referencing. If someone does know, send a comment my way and I’ll check it out.

According to Alexander Cheezem, the poem was written by Dorothy Law Nolte, and is the 1969 version of her poem, which the many versions can be seen Here

Children Learn What They Live

If a child lives with criticism, he learns to condemn.
If a child lives with hostility, he learns to fight.
If a child lives with ridicule, he learns to by shy.
If a child lives with shame, he learns to feel guilty.
If a child lives with tolerance, he learns to be patient.
If a child lives with encouragement, he learns confidence.
If a child lives with praise, he learns to appreciate.
If a child lives with fairness, he learns justice.
If a child lives with security, he learns to have faith.
If a child lives with approval, he learns to like himself.
If a child lives with acceptance and friendship, he learns to find love in the world.

4 Responses to "Children Learn What They Live"

From what I've been able to find, the poem is by Dorothy Law Nolte (see http://articles.latimes.com/2005/nov/13/local/me-nolte13 ). It's worth noting that there are several versions of it floating around (c.f. http://www.noogenesis.com/pineapple/Kristone.html ).

What a great saying! What a great poem. I am sorely tempted to steal it for a blog post of my own.

Heh, it’s hard to steal what I don’t own!!! đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

  • None
  • Corina Becker: Hi Anonymous person who apparently doesn't feel like giving me a name to address, and thus hides behind anonymity!!! I never said the federal gov
  • Anonymous: I think that it is about time something is being done federally to help those with ASD to get much needed therapies for their disability and YES I do
  • Corina Becker: Hi Janine! Melody reads here? Awesome. I honestly had no idea she was aware of this blog.And thank you so much, I'm glad both of you like the bl

Categories

